AOMA Graduate School of Integrative Medicine

LinkedInTwitterFacebookYouTube

Visiting Austin

Southwest Symposium 2013: Integral Medicine 
February 14-16, 2013
Austin, Texas

Austin Bergstrom International Airport
Getting to Know Austin
Finding your way around
Authentic Austin Activities
Other Attractions & Eateries

Getting to Know Austin

City of Austin – http://www.ci.austin.tx.us
Austin Convention and Visitors Bureau (ACVB) – http://www.austintexas.org
Greater Austin Chamber of Commerce – http://www.austin-chamber.org
The Austin Chronicle (weekly newspaper) - http://www.austinchronicle.com
Austin American Statesman (daily newspaper) - http://www.statesman.com & http://www.austin360.com
KUT radio - http://www.kut.org
Austin City Search - http://www.austin.citysearch.com
Austin Parks and Recreation Department – http://www.ci.austin.tx.us/parks

Finding Your Way Around

Capital Metro (city bus) – http://www.capmetro.org
Renting a car in Austin - http://www.bnm.com/aust.htm
Austin Cycling Association (Bike routes, maps, and community) - http://www.austincycling.org
Maps of the city - http://www.ci.austin.tx.us/maps.htm

Authentic Austin Activities

Swim, dive, play, and relax at Barton Springs Pool. Austinites refer to this year-round, spring-fed, natural pool as the heart and soul of the city. http://www.ci.austin.tx.us/parks/bartonsprings.htm
Hike, rock climb, paddle your kayak, walk your dog or mountain bike in Austin’s 16,000 acres of parkland. http://www.ci.austin.tx.us/parks  http://www.texasoutside.com/bartongreenbelt.htm  http://www.wildbasin.org
Watch the world’s largest urban bat colony take flight. http://www.batcon.org/congress.html
Groove with locally and nationally known musicians at one of Austin’s musical landmarks:
Antone’s – http://www.antones.net/
Stubb’s – http://www.stubbsaustin.com
The Continental Club – http://www.continentalclub.com
The Broken Spoke – http://www.brokenspokeaustintx.com
Waterloo Records – http://www.waterloorecords.com
Ruta Maya International Headquarters – http://www.rutamaya.net
Eat three wholesome meals a day at Casa de Luz macrobiotic restaurant and community center. http://www.casadeluz.org
Find some visual inspiration at the Blanton Art Museum’s B Scene First Friday art exhibitions. http://www.blantonmuseum.org/experience_the_blanton/public_programs.cfm
Enjoy dinner and drinks while watching the latest independent and mainstream movies at the Alamo Drafthouse Cinema. http://www.drafthouse.com
Play capoeira, buzz-through local galleries, and shop local crafts at First Thursday on South congress. http://www.firstthursday.info

Other Austin-area attractions:

Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center – http://www.wildflower.com
Texas State Parks (Bastrop, McKinney Falls, Pedernales Falls, Enchanted Rock, Inks Lake) – http://www.tpwd.state.tx.us
Bob Bullock Texas State History Museum – http://www.thestoryoftexas.com
TX State Capitol – http://www.tspb.state.tx.us/spb/capitol/texcap.htm
Book People (locally owned bookstore) – http://www.bookpeople.com
YogaYoga – http://www.yogayoga.com
Wheatsville Coop (natural foods cooperative) – http://www.wheatsville.coop
Whole Foods Market World Headquarters – http://www.wholefoods.com
Texas Rowing Center – http://www.texasrowingcenter.com
Austin’s Chinatown – http://www.chinatownaustin.com/

Other Austin-area eateries:

The Daily Juice (juice bar) – http://www.dailyjuice.org
The Oasis (restaurant & “sunset capitol of Texas”) – http://www.oasis-austin.com
The Salt Lick BBQ – http://www.saltlickbbq.com
Shady Grove Restaurant - http://www.theshadygrove.com
Magnolia Café – http://www.cafemagnolia.com
The San Francisco Bakery – http://austin.citysearch.com/profile/10237711


Contact us at .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) or 800-824-9987 x209.